Our History
First Citizens National Bank is a community bank that serves 8 North Iowa communities in 7 counties.
First Citizens National Bank is a community bank, committed to excellence in meeting the financial needs of our customers and communities. From origins in the 1800s, First Citizens is in its second generation of providing financial leadership to north Iowa. In December of 1994, O. Jay Tomson, Chairman of the Board, announced a corporate merger of its four subsidiary banks. Citizens National Bank (Charles City), Citizens National Bank (New Hampton), Osage Farmers National Bank, and First National Bank (Clarion) merged their assets and moved the remaining bank charter to Mason City.
The result was one bank, headquartered in Mason City, with 10 locations servicing North Iowa. Currently, the bank has over $900 million in assets and employs over 200 people. The bank is uniquely positioned as a locally-owned community bank with enough size to compete technologically while still being able to provide exceptional personal service.
First Citizens is committed to their local communities and economies by channeling loan dollars back in the neighborhoods where our depositors live and work. Through the First Citizens National Bank Charitable Foundation, substantial donations have been made to local causes. Besides the financial banking, their employees volunteer many hours of service in their communities.